ABS-CBN Philharmonic Orchestra relives OPM Classics with “Decades of OPM”

The ABS-CBN Philharmonic Orchestra pays tribute to some of the greatest original Pilipino music (OPM) masterpieces from the ’70s, ’80s ’90s and early 2000s with the release its debut album “Decades of OPM” under Star Records.

The album gives fresh take on 10 OPM classics, including videoke favorites “Kapalaran” with Gary V., “Hawak Kamay” with Yeng Constantino, “Himig Handog Suite” (Medley of Hanggang/Kung Ako Na Lang Sana/Ano’ng Nangyari Sa Ating Dalawa/Hindi Na Bale) with Angeline Quinto, “Rey Valera Suite” (Medley of Pangako/Tayong Dalawa/Kung Tayo’y Magkakalayo), “Mula Sa Puso” (orchestra only),  “Tubig at Langis” (orchestra only), and “Be My Lady” with award winning composer-arranger Louie Ocampo.

The project aims to bring orchestra music closer to the hearts of more Filipino people.

Aside from ballads, ABS-CBN Philharmonic Orchestra also plays Filipino dance hit songs which include “OPM Dance Suite” (Medley of Awitin Mo Isasayaw Ko/Katawan/Rock Baby/Tayo’y Magsayaqan) with Daniel Padilla, “Totoy Bibo” with Enrique Gil and Abra  and Pinoy Big Brother themesong “Pinoy Ako.”

Also featured in the album as bonus tracks are “Please Be Careful With My Heart” (orchestra only), “Maging Sino Ka Man” with Martin Nievera, “After All” with Martin Nievera and Vina Morales, and “Kung Kailangan Mo Ako” with Piolo Pascual.

“Decades of OPM” album is now available in all record bars nationwide with digital formats downloadable via,, and iTunes.

For more information about “Decades of OPM” album, visit Star Records’ Facebook fan page at or follow @starrecordsph on Twitter.

Article Tags

ABS-CBN Philharmonic Orchestra Daniel Padilla Decades of OPM opm