Album Review: Disclosure’s “Caracal”

Replicating an album’s critically-acclaimed formula is a double-edged sword because an artist will not want to sound the same as their previous work and run the risk of repeating their aesthetics. But at the same time they still want listeners to immediately recognize them through their already recognizable sound. Disclosure’s sophomore album “Caracal” sure feels like this dilemma.

​The Lawrence brother’s successful first album Settle made everyone to notice the two boys’ house music. Not only did the singles from the album charted, it also put an up and coming singer onto the forefront by the name of Sam Smith.

​Caracal attempted to recreate the vibe of the first album complete with vocals from different acts and genre like Miguel, Lorde, and Sam Smith. But none of the tacks from the album managed to stand out and make the listeners listen to it repeatedly. The album has the sound of classier electronic and house with none of the risk of Settle’s sinking aural vibe.

​That’s not to say that the album is bad. From The Weeknd’s “Nocturnal” to Lorde’s “Magnets” to Jordan Rakei’s “Masterpiece,” the album managed to create a sound that would still be playable in parties and will still make people dance. But not as crazy.

Released last September 2015 via Island Records, Disclosure’s Caracal contains 11 tracks which include;

1. Nocturnal [ft. The Weeknd]
2. Omen [ft. Sam Smith]
3. Holding On [ft. Gregory Porter]
4. Hourglass [ft. Lion Babe]
5. Willing & Able [ft. Kwabs]
6. Magnets [ft. Lorde]
7.  Jaded
8. Good Intentions [ft. Miguel]
9. Superego [ft. Nao]
10. Echoes
11. Masterpiece [ft. Jordan Rakei]


Follow GigsManila on Facebook at GigsManila, Twitter @GigsManila and IG @GigsManilaPH

Article Tags

Caracal Album review Caracal Track list Disclosure's Caracal album review New Music